Skip to content

Hope

March 12, 2010

This week’s CHOICEORTUNITY:

Hope

It is 45+ degrees in Milwaukee, WI today, spring is in the air and a little extra perkiness is in everyone’s step.  As I ran to get lunch today I determined that it was the sort of day that made you just not want to go back to work.  But alas I am back as I am four days late in sending out Choiceortunity and I was out sick yesterday.  On the adventure back to work with my windows open and the spring sun shining on my face the song “Hope” came on.  A song by Shaggy in the reggae, pop, hip/hoppish genre this song always brings tears to my eyes (yes I am a sap).  But it really speaks to having hope and never losing sight of it.  It speaks to how hope lays a foundation that carries on from generation to generation; how hope is a team effort, and a focus on values and dreaming big.  I often think to myself that there are several things that cannot be taken away from us:

Our family bonds

Our educations

Our determination

And last but not least, our hope

Too I got to thinking that I hope this weekend was going to be as nice as today is, but then remembered the pile of homework I have waiting for me and how that would interfere with any grand ideas of taking a road trip or spending the day cleaning up the yard getting muddy.  I had to tell myself that if I hoped for a brighter future, if I hope to set an example for my children and if I hope to EVER finish the degree I am working on, I’ll enjoy the sunshine while doing my homework.  It is likely that each and every one of us will be making a similar decision this weekend – stay strong and get that homework done!  So for this week’s choiceortunity I share hope with you.

“Hope”

I remember, wasn’t so long ago
We had a one room shack and the livin’ was low
And my mama by herself raised me and my bro
Wasn’t easy, but we did it with the little that go
Worked hard got us off to school every day
And kept her eyes on the stars when the skies were gray
Gave us pride to survive, really showed us the way
Now I really understood what she was tryin’ to say

She said, “Son there’ll be times when the tides are high
And the boat may be rocky, you can cry
Just never give up
You can never give up,” uh-uh

In this life you could lead if you only believe
And in order to achieve what you need
You can never give up
You can never give up

And this hope
That keep me holding on
On and on
And this hope
That makes me carry on
On and on

Boom-boom, couldn’t have made it alone
I got a wonderful life, two kids on my own
With a strong foundation that was carved in stone
And my mama for the love that made my house a home
Made me wonder some time if this was meant to be
All this for a humble little guy like me
And all I ever really wanted was a family
To teach my kids the same value that she gave to me

She said, Son there’ll be times when the tides are high
And the boat may be rocky, you can cry
Just never give up
You can never give up, uh-uh

In this life you could lead if you only believe
And in order to achieve what you need
You can never give up
You can never give up

And this hope
That keep me holding on
And on
And this hope
That makes me carry on
On and on

We nah turn no stepper, things a go better
Never let yourself be overcome by pressure
Cool yah me Bredda Have faith insteada
Sit down an watch em all a fight one another
Blaze like fire- nah go retire
God nah sleep and a him an inspire
We fa reach higher
A that him require
Haffa mek a mark before a time expire

And this hope
That keep me holding on
And on
And this hope
That makes me carry on
On and on

And this hope
That keep me holding on
And on
And this hope
That makes me carry on
On and on

There’s hope, yeah
Hope keeps it alive, yeah, uh
Hope keeps it alive, yeah, uh
And it strikes an iron, uh
Hope keeps it alive, yeah, yeah
Hope keeps it alive, yeah
Only the strong survive, yeah
Keep it carry on, keep it carry on, yeah
Uh-uh
I’ll keep it carry on, yeah
I gotta carry on, gotta carry on and be strong
Uh-uh-uh
Yeah, yeah, yeah, uh-uh

And this hope
That keep me holding on
And on
And this hope
That makes me carry on
On and on

Here is a link to the video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxKJy1RBslI after watching it you’ll want to go outside and dance in the “spring”, please do.

Here is to hope, enjoy your weekend.

Amy

Amy Chastek, Director of Career Services


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

