Skip to content

Stop and Smell the Crayon Wax

March 1, 2010

Choiceortunity #44

This week’s CHOICEORTUNITY:

Stop and Smell the Crayon Wax

My house is full of sick people.  I am sick.  My kids are sick.  I think our betta fish, Chip II, is even feeling under the weather.  This may sound like “mean mommy” but I love it when my kids get sick because all of sudden they need me; their independence flies out the door.  My sixteen year old not feeling well came into my bedroom at 8pm on Saturday night and asked if she could snuggle with me and ended up staying the whole night separated only by our two pound Yorkie who isn’t allowed in my room but comes as part of the sick teenager package.  Lying there with her sweaty head on my arm and listening to her quiet breaths brought me back to the days when the kids were little and needed me for everything.  When mom was mommy and daily outcomes were measured by how dirty we got in the sand box.

This time is fleeting.  The young woman who use to crave the newest “Bratz” doll is now car shopping.  I look in the mirror and still see a twenty-something looking back at me but the reality is I am hitting forty and have a house full of teenagers who will soon be the twenty-somethings.  Looking at my life in the current has me reflecting on the past.  At some point in time that went un-noticed my kids stopped doing kid things.  They stopped coloring me pictures to hang on the fridge and the opportunity to sit with them and color a page together passed me by quietly.  It would be WAY un-cool to color with Mom (or Mam as my daughter calls me) now.  Time is gift that each of us overlooks all too often.  We take for granted the moment we are in thinking it will be there tomorrow when it may not be.

I use my kids an example but this is true for all of us whether we have kids or not.  We tend to take the hours we are given each day for granted; worrying more about our list of “To Do” than we do the list of things we “Should Do” for ourselves.  We owe ourselves the “should do” even it if it is 20 minutes of yoga or taking a great nap.

What is on your list of “should do?”

So I am giving you homework this week.  Figure out what is on your list of things you should do; those things you want to do but don’t always make time for.  Then strive to take the time for them.  Too I am going to ask you to find a little one (your child, grandchild, niece, nephew or friend’s child), a box of crayons and some sort of paper.  Spend a little time creating and coloring; cherish the moment and ingrain it into your memory because you never know when it will be the last time you are afforded the opportunity.

To make it extra fun, send me your collective artwork with the first name of the little artist, your full name and phone number.  We’ll have a little Herzing coloring contest and the winners will receive something from the Herzing E-Store.  I have nine huge metal cabinets to fill up here at the Herzing offices and will be sure to post pictures to HcNet.

Send to:

Herzing University

Coloring Contest

525 North 6th Street

Milwaukee, WI 53203

(You could even color the envelope and make the mail man smile!)

Enjoy a GREAT and colorful week,

Amy

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen Hoepner permalink
    March 2, 2010 3:16 pm

    What a wonderful message and a fun activity, Amy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

