Skip to content

Choiceortunity #31

November 25, 2009

This week’s CHOICEORTUNITY: Be Thankful.

Yes, my choiceortunity this week is pretty predictable considering that tomorrow is Thanksgiving. I hope that everyone enjoys a little break from school and time with their loved ones. Too I hope that you can use this as an opportunity to consider what you have to be thankful for. There are the classic standbys: health, family, employment, friends, a nice home, but what else do we have to be thankful for?

“What am I thankful for…”

Looking around my community I see many opportunities to share my thankfulness. These opportunities are often hidden behind little deeds that will go unrecognized but very much appreciated. I’d like to share a story with you.

When I was a seventeen I went to the bank with my mother. My aunt worked at the bank and was our teller. I heard my mother ask my aunt to put $200 anonymously into an account of a family in our little town that we barely knew. My selfish seventeen year old self asked her as we walked out of the bank, why did you do that? After all $200 would benefit me. She simply said, “Sometimes people need a little help and if you can help you should.” My mother was the town’s mail carrier. Looking at people’s mail as you sort it for delivery gives you a great amount of insight into what is going on in their lives. She knew this family was having financial difficulties and hoped that a mysterious and random $200 showing up in their bank account would help. I later found out that she did this often. An act of unrecognized kindness yet not unappreciated, an act that shared a little bit of what we had to be thankful for with others.

“What can I do?”

There are many ways to share what you are grateful with others. Here are a few ideas 😉

• Smile and say hello. A smile can go a million miles.

• Tell someone how much you appreciate them, warm fuzzies are wonderful.

 • Carry a stash of $5 gift cards for McDonalds or Burger King to give to the homeless or people in need; a hot meal is a great thing to share and a way to help the less fortunate.

• Volunteer at a local shelter, senior center, hospital or nursing home; the gift of time has no price tag.

• Surprise the crossing guard you see on your daily commute with a cup of hot coco on a cold day.

• Bring a baked treat in for your co-workers.

• Surprise someone with flowers for no reason at all; there is joy to be found in “just because”.

• Leave a bag of groceries at the doorstep of a family in need.

 “What do we live for if it is not to make life less difficult to each other.” -George Eliot

I hope you all enjoy your Thanksgiving activities and have a safe and wonderful holiday.

Amy

Ready for Thanksgiving Day shopping? Don’t forget to visit the Herzing E-Store – http://www.herzingonline.edu/herzing-school-store

http://www.blogsurfer.us/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

