Skip to content

Choiceortunity #27

October 19, 2009

I am a survey geek. For some reason I love taking surveys and belong to several panels that try new products and such. Yesterday I took a survey that asked me the question, “When did you first use the internet?” I really had to think, it is hard to imagine a time in my adult life that I didn’t have the internet. Heck, my kids have never experienced life without internet services. Thinking back it had to be 1996 when AOL was at the top of the ISP food chain sending out free installation CDs in the mail to the masses. I remember receiving enough CDs in the mail to cover a wall. All of this got me thinking about technology and how it has changed our world. So let me ask, do you remember:

Techie

Bag Cell Phones?

Atari?

Dot printers with the guide holes you had to tear off?

When computer screens were all black with green writing?

Polaroid cameras?

VHS or even older beta tapes?

Records and 45’s?

The typewriter?

It is indeed a very different world than it was just ten or fifteen years ago. Technology has changed the way we communicate, the way we learn and the way we carry out our day to day lives. It seems that as soon as you bite the bullet and buy the latest, greatest thing, it is outdated the next day. I bought a smart phone only to find out that all the “cool kids” were getting iPhones. Now I need an iPhone so I can share “apps” by “bumping phones”. I can remember when I was happy that my cell phone would simply just make a call or have a signal.

Even though there is a tone of sarcasm in my writings of technology I can say that I am glad it is here. I am glad I can text while watching YouTube and DVRing my favorite TV show so I can skip though the commercials. Terribly happy that I get 1700 stations via cable TV, can see movies on demand and connect to the internet up to 500 feet from the wireless hub in my house or anywhere from my outdated (I am told) cell phone. I am happy to have 24/7 access to all the information in the world at my fingertips and if I see something funny I can quickly snap a picture of it and send it to Facebook or my friends in matter of seconds.

So Amy, what does this have to do with Choiceortunities?

Technology + Learning = Choiceortunity. Technology is changing the way we learn and what we learn as each and every student at Herzing Online can attest to. Can you imagine driving to a big campus, finding parking and sitting in class for four or five hours after having worked a full day or taken care of your family all day long? Technology allows us more control over the time spent learning; it allows us as individuals to determine what, when and where, which of course means we have choiceortunities! As technology changes so too will our opportunities and means in which we learn. Looking forward we wonder what this will mean to each of us, what is next on the horizon where technology and learning meet? Only the future will tell but luckily we have many opportunities to explore.

So now I would like to hear from our learners, alumni and whoever else, please tell me about your “inner techie” by filling out this simple four question survey. Click HERE. I’ll be watching for your responses!

I told you I was a survey geek!

Amy

To find out more about Herzing University Online please visit us on the web at www.herzingonline.edu or contact me personally at 866-508-0748, ext 859. If you are an employer looking for a GREAT employee, please check out our interactive job seeker map by clicking here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

