Skip to content

Meet Tammy Winston, Class of 2009

October 9, 2009

Tammy_Winston

I have always had dreams of attending college. My dreams were deferred when I was told by my parents, in my senior year of high school, I could not attend college because I would have to go to work to help provide for my four younger brothers. As the years went by, I found myself married with a son and later a daughter, and then divorced. At the time of my divorce, I had been working in the healthcare industry for nine years and wanted a change. I felt like I did not have the time to attend college but would in the future.

Two and a half years went by. After not being promoted after numerous attempts, I was determined to attend college no matter what. I knew attending and ultimately graduating college would fulfill my lifelong dream. It would also be my only option for advancement at work. After a lot of research, I decided going to college online would be my best option. In December 2004, I contacted Herzing College Online, spoke with Ben Nirschl, a very friendly and informative admissions advisor, and enrolled into the ASCIS program in March 2005.

During my enrollment, I remarried and gained three more children (more challenges). I graduated with honors in April 2007. But, I couldn’t stop at the Associate degree. I re-enrolled into the BSTM-CS program and expect to graduate with honors in April 2009. Since getting my education at Herzing Online, I decided to stay in the Healthcare industry and now am a supervisor. Herzing has helped me grow over the years. I am looking forward to enrolling into the MBA-Healthcare Management program.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

