Skip to content

Choiceortunity #25

October 7, 2009

This week’s CHOICEORTUNITY:

Set the Example and Strive to be the Exceptional
Role.Model
My fifteen year old daughter didn’t feel well last night and crawled in bed with me to snuggle in hopes that a little mom time would help her feel better. I don’t know if it did or not but it sure made me feel good. At the age of fifteen I wouldn’t have dreamt of snuggling with my mother, I wouldn’t have even told her I wasn’t feeling well; we didn’t have “that” kind of relationship. As I started my own family I resolved myself to not be “that” mom but to be the mom that my kids would always come to, feel safe telling anything to and always trust. Granted about 50% of childrearing is dumb luck but I honestly think we have control over the other 50%; much like everything in life. Somehow I was able to set myself on a course to being the mom I didn’t have, to set my own example of what motherhood is to me and now I strive to be as exceptional a parent as I can be.

The same is true when it comes to many things in life.

When it comes to what we can control (the way we treat others, how we raise our children, managing our time, setting our goals, doing our homework), we have to resolve ourselves to set forth the example and strive to be exceptional. How? Whether we admit it or not, we all mimic what we see around us, we look for mentors in the faces of our families, co-workers and supervisors. We look for examples of behavior and attitude to follow. Unfortunately we can’t always find these examples in our lives so we have to turn inward, look at ourselves in the mirror and set our own example not only for ourselves but for those who may be looking to us for guidance; like our children, friends or classmates.

The truly wonderful thing about setting the example is that once you’ve figured it out, you can start on your path to striving for excellence. The key to success is getting rid of self doubt. You can do anything you set your mind to. I know you hear this and may see it as lip service but it is true. You really can do ANYTHING you set your mind to. Just set the example for yourself, within yourself and for the people who look up to you. Once you’ve got your example set you can work to remove your barriers and then strive to be exceptional. For example, once you establish your homework routine you can strive for straight A’s. Once you start exercising three times a week you can strive to run a mile or ten. Once you understand a concept you’ve learned in school you can master it and then share your knowledge with others. Once you’ve taken the steps to start school and take control of your future you can strive to be the example for the people around you, to be their mentor and to be their example to live up to.

Once you learn to fly you can strive to soar.

Amy
For more information about Herzing Online please visit www.herzingonline.edu or call 866-508-0748. Know someone who is hiring? Click here to view a map of our graduates and students who are seeking new careers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

