Skip to content

Stop. Drop. Do It.

March 6, 2009

doitlater

Just Do It…. I haven’t blogged in three weeks; I am a slacker. Between three kids, a full time job, teaching on the side and going to school myself full time life has been busy. Too, spring is in the air here in Milwaukee, making it hard to want to be sitting behind a computer. So today I decided to “stop, drop and do it”.

This quote has been floating around our offices for a couple of weeks and today I decided to own it. I stopped doing what I was doing and started on my WAY overdue blog and now I am on a roll! “Stop, drop and do it” is a good motto for job searching and career development. I remember back to the days when I was looking for a change and would cruise the web looking at potential opportunities. I’d think, “That looks interesting; I think I’ll apply for it”. Then I would plan to come back to it after a little more searching. This didn’t always work. Either I would let a couple of days pass and the job would be gone or I would go back to search it out and not be able to find it.

This is where “stop, drop and do it” would have been handy. The reality is that some jobs are literally only posted for a day. In that one day an employer can get a hundred applications, especially with the current economic and unemployment situation. If you plan on coming back to it “tomorrow”, be aware that by tomorrow it may be gone and so will your opportunity. When an opportunity lies before you, you need to stop to take notice, drop what you are doing and just do it! Send in your resume. Fill out the application. To keep track of your job opportunities I highly recommend using RSS feeds. It will save you the time spent searching and streamline the whole process. You can save the jobs you want to apply to and keep them organized.

This message can be related to many other aspects of the job search besides applying for positions. Think about the opportunities you’ve had to network with someone that you’ve missed or the opportunity to help a co-worker with a project or task and impress your boss. What about the opportunity to help someone, even a stranger.

So as you enjoy the spring air and continue your job search, please remember to take action so you are not left behind. If you are considering continuing your education….stop right here….drop what you are doing….and call me…just do it, I’d love to talk to you about your goals.

Warm Smiles,

Amy

If you would like to contact me please do so at achastek@onl.herzing.edu or 866-508-0748, ext 859.  Visit us on the web at http://www.herzingonline.edu

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

